Books

I used to read A LOT. Really a lot. My parents called me “bookworm”. I would devour whole books in one afternoon, read my favorites over and over again. I don’t do that anymore. I would love to, but somehow I don’t have the time. It’s not that I don’t really have it, I guess I could make time in my schedule. But it’s really a deeper issue. I spend most my days studying. Studying law means reading a lot of books, law books, commentaries, articles, all in text form. Coming home after that, I don’t like to read anymore. I want to be entertained, and I want to be easily entertained. Books are work, you need to concentrate differently than when you sit down, put on 30 Rock or Community and go about surfing the internet. I don’t know if it’s just that I already read a lot, just not for leisure, or if it’s that other forms of entertainment are easier to come by, I just don’t read.

A couple of weeks ago I completely cleaned out my bookcase, cleaned and since I had all the books out, I decided to be tidy and make a list of all my books, including the “status”, if I had read them or not.  Out of 84 (some of my books are still at my parents’) I still have to read or finish 16. I’ve decided to get on that now. There are some that I might not read, I have some “classics” of German literature (Goethe), that are too heavy, but I can at least finish “Making History”. I’ll get on that now. But first I have to study.

Leave a Reply

